40 Comments

My Bluum Box Review

Bluum Box – Is It Worth Paying For?

bluum is it worth it 300x190 My Bluum Box Review

Image Credit: Jessica Holbrook

If you’ve read much of my blog, you might remember that I posted a deal for a 3 month subscription to Bluum a few weeks back. Well, I have since received my first Bluum box and let’s just say, it wasn’t very good. At first, I thought the box was OK because it did have several samples in it. I even made a video about my box and what I had received. Then, I posted it to Bluum’s Facebook wall and walked away from my computer. When I went back, I had several comments about how bad this month’s box was. I started reading through posts on Bluum’s Facebook wall and that’s when I realized that something was very wrong.

bluum homepage My Bluum Box Review

Bluum – NOT as advertised! Image Source: bluum.com

First of all, NONE of the items in the box were “deluxe samples”, as advertised on Bluum’s homepage. If you’ve spent much time sending in for samples, you know that regular samples are one time use items and “deluxe samples” are ones you can use 2+ times to get a good feel for the product. In addition, all of the items that we (new subscribers) received were leftovers from old boxes. Those who had paid full price received a much nicer box including an almost full-size product. When I found this out, I was pretty hurt so I decided to make a video detailing what I had found.

I posted my video on the Bluum Facebook page with a short message saying “If you’re considering Bluum box, watch this first” and left it at that. A few hours later, a very rude woman commented on that post saying that I was “harsh” and “trashing” the company. She also said that Bluum has to make money somehow. I replied with my reasons for creating and posting the video, as well a joking remark that she must be an employee, and shortly after, she said this:

rude facebook post My Bluum Box Review

Read the whole thread HERE (requires Facebook) or HERE (screenshot).

At this point, I believe she may be an employee of (or have some other vested interest in) Bluum but I can’t be sure because Bluum actually thanked me for my HONEST feedback. So what do you think? Was it “spiteful” for me to create the video? Or do you think that I am actually doing my part to warn moms about a service that really isn’t worth the cost?

UPDATE: I continued my 3 month Bluum box subscription and while the boxes did get a little bit better, I still think that your money would be better spent on something else. If you instead put $11 per month in a savings account for 18 years (yes, I know the Bluum box is only for a few years but stay with me here), you could give your child a $5000 high school graduation gift. Sounds a lot better than some samples they (and you) will probably never remember. If you love learning about new baby products, I would suggest reading some great baby product review blogs like Baby Gizmo or Smart Mom Picks.

 My Bluum Box Review About Jessica Holbrook
I’m 26 years old, married, and a learning geek. I love to research, read, take photographs, play video games, DIY, review products, and so much more. I am the primary writer of Jersha & Dup, as well as the behind the scenes gal. I also maintain a few other websites but Jersha & Dup is my true passion.

Related posts:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This blog uses premium CommentLuv which allows you to put your keywords with your name if you have had 3 approved comments. Use your real name and then @ your keywords (maximum of 3)

40 Responses to “My Bluum Box Review”

  1. Emily 16 May 2014 at 4:08 pm Permalink

    I had no issue canceling. I did have to click on the link from the email once initiating the cancelation request. No big deal. I actually would like to sign up again. I was sent an email that supposedly had deals on the membership. I clicked on it, and went to Account as described in the email. No savings show up. I go to try to get the price, and I HAD to enter my credit card information before a price would show up, THEN it was the same price as before. I will probably go back to Citrus Lane now.

    The only other issue was receiving duplicates of some toys/stuffed animals. That feels like they are just discarding leftover crap.

  2. Hollie 6 May 2014 at 8:08 pm Permalink

    I also tried to cancel my subscription and found the process awkward, frustrating and ineffective. First, I had to send an email requesting to cancel my membership. I received a response and clicked the link to go to an unsubscribe page. After being asked “Are you sure? Here are some options to pre-pay for 3 or 6 or 12 months at a cost savings” I declined but my card was still charged and my membership is still active. I wrote an email complaining and have not had a response yet.

  3. Carmen 13 August 2013 at 12:04 pm Permalink

    Not worth the subscription fee and customer service is poor. I emailed them to cancel and they responded “Are you sure? You’ll lose your points..blah blah” so I received another $25 unwanted package and they won’t respond to my email. Don’t buy from them!

  4. Linda S 27 June 2013 at 6:52 pm Permalink

    Thanks for your review! I think you just saved me alot of money. At first the deal seemed really good but then I really started to look at what you got for your money and I started to question whether I wanted to commit and leave my credit card information. It also looked like they wanted to charge a membership fee but it wasn’t really clear. Thanks for your help!

  5. Alena 5 June 2013 at 10:54 am Permalink

    BEWARE if you sign up for a trial! They will charge your credit credit card after the trial is up for the most expensive box. I was just charged $24.95! I had purchased a groupon type deal for a one-month box and had to pay $1 shipping on the Bluum site and then they went and charged my credit card for the next month even though I had NOT signed up. Just be careful! It isn’t worth the hassle – I’ve been emailing and calling with no luck.

  6. Zakiya 4 June 2013 at 12:18 am Permalink

    Hi Jessica,

    Thank you very much for taking the time to blog about Bluum. This was really helpful. You mentioned that it was only $11 a month, well it is now $24.95. I will definitely take your advice and invest in something more memorable.(Such as a Savings acct.)

    Once again, thank you sooo much.

  7. Lee 5 March 2013 at 3:19 pm Permalink

    Hi Jessica
    Thanks for the honest review. So often you read something about what someone is reviewing and you know I scantly they are just trying to get you to part with your money.but you have been honest here and this is a breath of fresh air.

    Thanks again lee

  8. Kim 14 February 2013 at 10:08 am Permalink

    I became a Bluum Mom through a Living Social deal, and thought it was a great concept. I was super excited and anxiously awaited my first Bluum box (which, by the way, arrived 2-3 weeks later than scheduled). However, my first box (January 2013) was extremely disappointing. I received a spoon shaped like an airplane, disposable bibs, a sample pack of wipes, and a coupon for the bibs. Really? My son is 5 months, so we aren’t even using spoons yet, but this is a more advanced spoon anyways. Oh, there was also a sample packet of dehydrated food, which also seems to be more for an older child. It was nothing like the sample boxes shown online with lotions or oils and teethers and toys. Granted my membership for the quarter was about half the price of a regular membership, but I would think the boxes are the same if they want return customers. It seems my dollars were wasted and I will definitely NOT be renewing for full price and I will NOT be buying another subscription “deal” in the future, even at half price. I really wanted to like Bluum because I think the concept is great, but my experience was not one that I would want a friend to repeat (i.e. I will tell my Mom friends not to waste their time, money, and excitement).

  9. Caligirl 26 January 2013 at 2:27 am Permalink

    I have to agree with your post. This service is more of a crap shoot. I started my subscription when the hurricaine hit and my box was shorted – understandable because of weather conditions. Then the next month they included the samples that should have been in the box the month before. Only when I wrote and complained about the lack of samples did they send enoguh to make up for both months. Today I get another noted stating that my box is delayed and may not get shipped until th 30th. Wonder if they are going to try to count it as fbruary box too. Poor program. Citrus lane is 1 million times better

  10. Holley 18 October 2012 at 11:29 am Permalink

    I recieved notification on my bluum account that I will be recieving 3 disney onsies, 3 different burts bees procuts, and some baby food pouches. I only paid $6, but is the website box content info accurate?mine should be here today or tomorrow.

    • Jessica Holbrook 19 October 2012 at 3:40 pm Permalink

      I can’t remember for sure but I do believe the notifications were correct. If so, that sounds like a great box! I’d love to see an update when you get yours. :)

  11. Diana 8 October 2012 at 9:40 pm Permalink

    Jessica,
    I want to thank you for posting your honest opinion of the Bluum box! I was about to order and send to my daughter-in-law. I will spend my money on things I know she will appreciate!

    Thanks!!

  12. Lee 24 September 2012 at 4:32 am Permalink

    Hi Jessica really good follow up. I had seen blum advertised and had wondered about it. Thanks for putting us straight about the facts.

    Thanks lee

  13. Carrie 11 September 2012 at 11:13 am Permalink

    Thank you for the review!!

  14. Samantha Krolo 24 August 2012 at 10:21 pm Permalink

    Found your review while searching for Bluum reviews and I am happy that I did. Currently there is a PlumDistrict promo where you can get a 3 month membership to Bluum for $14.40 and I was going to give it a shot but now I don’t think I will. Thanks for posting something like this for us mamas! Between your situation and the others in the comments, I think I’ll pass!

  15. Rachel 23 August 2012 at 7:31 pm Permalink

    Thanks! I was wondering the size of the samples. Appreciate you honesty!
    Rachel recently posted..Old MacDonald Had A FarmMy Profile

  16. Jenny 16 July 2012 at 11:30 am Permalink

    https://www.saveology.com/deals/national/bluum {link edited to go directly to deal}
    You can try out the Bluum box for half off. Great to see if you like it or not!

    • Jessica Holbrook 16 July 2012 at 11:41 am Permalink

      That’s more than I paid for my subscription and I thought it really wasn’t worth it. Try if you want but I would caution you NOT to order Bluum.

  17. rebecca 22 June 2012 at 10:36 pm Permalink

    Thanks for this! I just signed up for a trial month, so I’ll see how it goes. Perhaps the service has improved in the past few months.

    • jersharocks 23 June 2012 at 6:19 am Permalink

      I sure hope so! If you wouldn’t mind, please come back and let us know!

  18. Alicia 29 April 2012 at 2:35 am Permalink

    I also agree Bluum is not the best, (to put it nicely.) I have received 4 of their boxes and never got much most of the things were not even for my son. It is def not worth the money! & to beat it all I got one of the same samples two months in a row! The other subscription services are much better like TeethMe and Citrus lane, they are not expensive and product are wonderful and full sized!

  19. Sarah 22 April 2012 at 10:43 pm Permalink

    TeetheMe a great company that just launched their subscription boxes. Great product from 0-3 years of age. Check out their website and Facebook page. You won’t be disappointed.

    • jersharocks 24 April 2012 at 10:21 am Permalink

      Have you tried their boxes already? Just curious since they “just launched.”

      • Sarah 24 April 2012 at 11:40 pm Permalink

        Yes ! The products are awesome and no trail sizes! Love it! Very useful an valued way over the $24a month membership fee. Plus they have 20% off coupon codes for your first month!

        • jersharocks 25 April 2012 at 5:58 am Permalink

          That sounds really cool Sarah! The other baby and momma box that I’m reviewing is pretty similar. ;)

    • Alicia 29 April 2012 at 2:30 am Permalink

      I love TeethMe! They are so worth the money & you get full sized products which are great. I just started my subscription with them and got 5 items! Citrus Lane is another good one, also full sized and not sample sizes.

      • jersharocks 29 April 2012 at 10:31 am Permalink

        You should check out the review I just did about petiteBoxes. They are SO nice! Citrus Lane and TeethMe are both on my list to try as well. :)

  20. Jenn 20 April 2012 at 7:26 pm Permalink

    BLUUM boxes are awful! The box they are packed in costs more than the samples. If you want a good kids subscription service go with Citrus Lane, Kiwi Crate or BabbaCo boxes. I have subscriptions to all 3 and LOVE them!

    • jersharocks 20 April 2012 at 10:25 pm Permalink

      Thanks for the comment, Jenn! We do have a review coming up for a new baby and momma box. ;)

  21. lynn damer 21 March 2012 at 4:50 pm Permalink

    I received my first, of a 3 month subscription of “bluum”, package today, I am very dissapointed. Not worth the monthly fee! I’m calling this week to try to cancel my subscription.

    • jersharocks 21 March 2012 at 6:00 pm Permalink

      I just got my last box today and was pretty disappointed too. I got 2 lotion samples, a green tea sample, binky spray, and a fruit puree sample. I heard some people got chocolate bars. I wonder if they were regular subscribers or people who got in on the deal like us.

  22. Lauren 20 March 2012 at 2:35 pm Permalink

    I just found out I got charged for another three month subscription to Bluum, which I never in a million years would have agreed to! Who would pay $11 a month for free samples? So lame. I now have to dispute the charge with me credit card company. I did not need another stresser. Do NOT buy Bluum boxes people!

    • jersharocks 20 March 2012 at 2:46 pm Permalink

      I am SO sorry to hear that! Your comment prompted me to check my accounts and fortunately I haven’t been charged but I noticed my renewal was coming up so I went ahead and cancelled. I hope you get it all straightened out because I agree, Bluum is NOT worth $11 per month.

      • Lauren 20 March 2012 at 9:17 pm Permalink

        I made a fuss and got them to refund my money for the next two months, but after opening this month’s box I still feel ripped off. $11 for $1.00 baby food, a $3 bottle of binky spray, a tiny bag of tea I can’t drink, and then free sample sizes of skin cream. I just don’t get it.

        • jersharocks 21 March 2012 at 4:50 am Permalink

          I’m glad they refunded your money! That’s one good thing I can say about them, they do actually care about what their customers think and say. I don’t understand how they can charge so much and people actually like the boxes. Maybe they’re forgetting how much they actually paid for them?

  23. Danielle 13 March 2012 at 6:29 pm Permalink

    I received similar backlash after I posted a review on Cravebox’s Facebook wall — I wasn’t impressed with the service at all. It seemed like a bunch of people with nothing better to do felt the need to leave me comments like the one you received. Also like your situation, Cravebox actually welcomed my feedback and thanked me for my honest review. I really think this is just a case of adults behaving like children and hiding behind their computer screens so that they can be rude.

  24. Tomica 28 January 2012 at 8:30 pm Permalink

    I believe you were correct in making the video. One thing I know is that companies appreciate bad feedback as well as good. They may not like it, however, it gives them an idea of what they need to change. Imagine, if they never received negative remarks, however, they continued to lose customers. They wouldn’t know exactly why the customers fled without receiving feedback good or bad. The lady is the one trying to get the extra gifts by showing favor to their side.

    Tomica

    • jersharocks 28 January 2012 at 9:02 pm Permalink

      “Imagine, if they never received negative remarks, however, they continued to lose customers. hey wouldn’t know exactly why the customers fled without receiving feedback good or bad.”

      That’s an excellent point! If I owned a business, I would be extremely distraught if I were losing customers but couldn’t figure out why. I think that it is extremely important to provide honest feedback on products and services so that manufacturers know how to make their product the best that it can be. That’s why I love taking surveys. Aside from the monetary compensation, the best part of taking surveys is knowing that MY feedback will make a product better for everyone.

  25. Mandy Robinson 28 January 2012 at 12:39 pm Permalink

    Interesting! I wont be buying it!


%d bloggers like this: